Here’s How to Communicate Your Gluten Allergy in Different Languages

I can’t speak another language.  The most I can say is “hola” and “mas cerveza por favor.”  As some know, the second saying won’t help me out much because it says, “more beer please,” and since the whole ban on gluten in my life happened, beer is no longer in my diet.  I should start to remember “sidra” which I believe means “hard cider” in Spanish.  But Spanish is the only language I am familiar with because I took two courses of it my freshman year of high school.  Now I can’t even begin to try to communicate with a Spanish speaking person.

Communicating with a server from a different country that speaks a different is hard enough on its own.  So what if you have a food allergy?  How do you communicate it to the server?  I had no idea but once I found this blog, Celiac Travel, and it saved my life.  You can choose any language and it will directly translate what you need to tell your server.  It also gives you print out card options to hand to your server if you have any trouble memorizing and pronouncing different words.

Another device that’s going to be released to the market in June 2017 is “ili.”  “This device is a wearable translator that instantly translates your words. The device can be used anywhere, anytime without being connected to the Internet. Its intuitive user interface allows you to use the device as if you’re directly communicating with the other person.”

It’s available for the first 100 early adaptors in June 2017.  The first version only translates English, Chinese, and Japanese.  The second version will translate Korean, Spanish, and Thai.  This product is the perfect device for communicating with your server at the restaurant. Once the product is finalized,  it will be super helpful to all travelers and I will defiantly be getting myself one.

But most of us cannot wait for this product to come out and many more of us are not early adaptors.  So the thing to do until it becomes available to us “normal folks” is to do it the old fashion way – print it out or memorize.  In case you run out of cards or forget them, here’s some quick simple phrases you can memorize for when you’re out to eat:

English → Spanish: I cannot eat gluten → No puedo comer gluten

I am gluten free and need to have food with no gluten → Estoy sin gluten y la necesidad de tener comida sin gluten.

Spanish Gluten Free Restaurant Card

English → French: I cannot eat gluten → Je ne peux pas manger de gluten

I am gluten free and need to have food with no gluten → Je suis sans gluten et j’ai besoin d’avoir de la nour.

French Gluten Free Restaurant Card

English → German: I cannot eat gluten → Ich kann kein gluten essen

I am gluten free and need to have food with no gluten → Ich bin glutenfrei und muss Lebensmittel ohne Gluten haben.

German Gluten Free Restaurant Card

I defiantly recommend printing these cards having them laminated because these will truly help you when you are in a country where you can’t communicate with anyone.

Picture credit

Leave a Reply

